CS 373: Week 1

What did you do this past week?

This past week I have been fighting the remnants of a cold and trying to finalize my schedule for this semester. As far as this class is concerned, I have just been going to class and taking notes.

What’s in your way?

Getting myself motivated! I can see that a large portion of learning for this class, such as the tools, will fall on me to do outside of class and on my own time. There seems to be a lot to learn and familiarize myself with in a short amount of time.

What will you do next week?

Get on track! It’s time to start filling in my calendar with due dates, reminders, and just general outline of what to look up and read for this class. The first assignment, the Collatz project, is coming up, and I want to start this class on top of things.

What’s my experience of the class?

To be honest, I registered for this class because I need an upper-division writing flag to complete my degree, and I have read favorable reviews of Professor Downing online. When I took a quick look at the syllabus/class website a couple of days before class began and saw that there would be several group projects, I got a bit nervous.

The daily attendance quiz is also something that caught me off-guard — I totally forgot to read the articles! As someone who rarely, if ever, volunteer to speak up, Downing’s policy to make sure to call on everyone to answer his question is intimidating, but it seems like a practice to keep my focus up in class.

What’s my pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

There are a lot of researchers at UT who would love someone with some software design knowledge to reach out to them. Many post listings that can be found here. Though some of the listings may be old, it may be the case that the lab is still looking for someone!

Leave a Reply

