CS 373: Week 3

What did you do this past week?

This week, I finished the Collatz assignment that has been hanging over my head. The coding portion of the assignment, even with all the optimizations, wasn’t too hard to implement. I think it paid to do it as Downing suggested in class: start with the simplest solution and then make it more efficient (either through the algorithm or with the caches).

However, the major issues I did run into was testing and turning the assignment in! For some reason, a newer version of the makefile keep returning errors, and I didn’t realize this until about half an hour left of the assignment. I was relieved when all the tests ran and make didn’t give me any more issues. I guess I just have to make sure I get the bulk of the work done earlier so I will have more time to deal with issues like these.

What’s in your way?

The second assignment, Netflix, is already up. I am not sure if I am going to find a partner for this one. For the sake of convenience and not having to try finding someone with a schedule that matches my own, I might just choose to do this one alone. I also still have to get the readings done for this week, but I don’t think that is going to be a significant issue. For what it’s worth, this Netflix assignment looks very interesting.

What will you do next week?

Same thing as usual: try to get started on the assignment, don’t fall behind on the reading, and keep paying attention in class! This time, I have to make sure my setup with github/etc. has no issue before I start on the project.

What’s my experience of the class?

Piazza on the final hours before the project was due seemed hectic. Having guest speakers from Bloomberg was a nice surprise, and it definitely enlightened me on what software engineers seem to actually do.

What’s my pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

A good friend of mine showed me something interesting that this article explains in more details. To summarize, a vulnerability was discovered in Cisco’s WebEx, a Chrome extension. This vulnerability allowed any website to potentially install malware on your computer silently, but was patched shortly after it was discovered. Still pretty scary!

Leave a Reply

