CS 373: Week 4

What did you do this past week?

This week, I started two separate applications to intern abroad. Got started on the Netflix assignment, but I’m still following the workflow closely…

What’s in your way?

Right now, I am feeling stressed about getting everything that needs to get done for other classes while still giving myself enough time to tackle this Netflix assignment alone. I found myself forgetting to time myself for the last assignment, so I could only give a rough estimate of the time it took me to do the Collatz assignment.

What will you do next week?

Write a lesson plan for UTeach. Finish internship applications. Definitely finish the Netflix assignment. Keep better track of time spent on assignments for this class. I have started to keep track of start times and end times of when I work on this assignment. Doesn’t ignore distractions during the time period, but something is better than nothing. Maybe I could use a stopwatch!

What’s my experience of the class?

The last two classes have been strengthening my knowledge of Python’s structures (e.g. Lists vs Set). I have only picked up enough Python to do some assignments in previous CS-related courses, with a bulk of my Python knowledge stemming from scientific data analysis, so I never thought about the language at a deeper level than a functional one.

There was also another useful tidbit that Downing mentioned (that would have been useful for testing in the Collatz assignment): if the code runs too fast to see any meaningful time, just run it a hundred or a thousand times in a row to get a better idea of the impact of any optimizations.

What’s my pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

Ever feel hampered or slowed down because you have to keep looking up how to write certain commands on the terminal? Want a simple and easy way of learning and remembering useful snippets of code? Look no further than Code Cards (described in this article)! Using the power of spaced repetition,  you too can retain hundreds of programming idioms!

Leave a Reply

